Hit enter after type your search item
Sports Betting Site Betway
Home / Sport / Brendan Gallagher awarded the Jean Béliveau Trophy

Brendan Gallagher awarded the Jean Béliveau Trophy


The recipient of the Jean Béliveau trophy for the 2017-18 season will be honored during a short ceremony before the game between the Ottawa Senators and the Montreal Canadiens tonight at the Bell Centre. This time, the Canadiens’ Brendan Gallagher will be presented with the award for his charitable actions and community involvement.

Brendan Gallagher at Shriners Hospital

The Jean Béliveau trophy is awarded annually to the Canadiens player who best exemplifies leadership qualities in the community. The award is accompanied by a $25,000 donation made to a charity of the player’s choice. Candidates are evaluated according to their commitment, leadership, involvement and time invested in collective and personal initiatives that are important to them.

Touched by the difficulties encountered by children struggling with an illness or in need, Brendan has arranged many visits with them. Wishing to contribute to a national cause with roots in the city where he plays, Brendan chose to become an ambassador for the Shriners Hospital for Children. He is very impressed by the quality of care and the environment offered to the hospital’s young patients. In his role, he offers his help for various fundraising initiatives, organizes a summer softball tournament and contributes to raising awareness for the cause. Above all, aware that hospitalization can be frightening for children and their loved ones, Brendan makes sure to have direct contact with the children at the hospital by visiting them regularly.

Brendan also regularly and effectively uses social media to draw attention to community organizations or to raise awareness for various causes, such as those related to Hockey Fights Cancer or the Montreal Canadiens Children’s Foundation.

Past winners of the trophy include Carey Price, Brian Gionta, Michael Cammalleri, Maxime Lapierre, Patrice Brisebois, Alex Kovalev, P.K. Subban, Max Pacioretty, Francis Bouillon, Steve Bégin and Saku Koivu.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Linkedin
  • Pinterest

Leave a Comment

This div height required for enabling the sticky sidebar
Ad Clicks :Ad Views : Ad Clicks :Ad Views :
%d bloggers like this: